The moment has arrived!!

It is official. I HAVE A JOB!

All the hard work of my last year, last semester, and the last 2 months have finally paid off. I am the new Event Coordinator for Columbia Law School.

Wait? What? Columbia Law School? Lauren- where is that located?

It is official. I’M MOVING TO NEW YORK CITY!

I’m getting rid of every belonging I have, turning down a job on a cruise ship (yes, they asked me,) and moving to New York City- a city until a few month ago, I never considered.

This whole experience has been a complete whirlwind. I’m still pinching myself. I’m going to be an event coordinator. Events. Coordinating events. It is what I have wanted for the last four years!!

And you know what? I’m proud of myself. I feel like I don’t often say that because there is always something else to achieve, something else to reach for. But this time. I’m really proud. Overwhelming proud. And relieved.

I got this job on sheer experience and a little creativity. I didn’t know anyone at Columbia. I had no connections. I just knew how to figure out a specific person’s email address.  And that is why I am proud. The work that I have done for the past four years, actually paid off. It wasn’t my ability to shmooze or know people in high places, it was my actual skill, my four internships, time spent working multiple jobs and creating experiences for myself when there weren’t any in my major, that got me this job it. And I’m proud.

Okay– enough of tooting my horn.

Along with being proud, I’m completely terrified. I’m moving to a city I am completely unfamiliar with. I’m selling every possession I own. I’m selling my car. I will have bills to pay. I will have a salary (that I will have to budget on). I have to find an apartment. I’m abandoning everything I know for a complete change of pace.

But, I did it four years ago and I think I got along fine. So I’m going to do it again. This time- I’m older, wiser, and just as excited. So New York- Bring. It. On.

For now, I’ve got two more weeks in Bloomington. Things must be done. Bucket lists tasks must be checked off. To be continued…

This entry was posted in It's about a job!, It's about life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The moment has arrived!!

  1. Amy says:

    girl, this sounds exactly like a few blog posts i had about a month back when i was moving to Denver. its such an exciting time! enjoy it and don’t get too bogged down by the scary parts!

Leave a Reply

