What Indiana has taught me

I’ve just finished my taxes. It took forever. With a mom in California, a dad in Tennessee and having lived and learned in Indiana for the last 3.5 years, where the heck do I claim residence!?

While it took me a while to figure it out on my 1040, I believe that I reside in Indiana. Why? Because I’m totally a Hoosier now. I know all the tricks of the trade.

Here are a few things I’ve learned in the past 3.5 years from living in IN and being a Hoosier:

  1. I now know where corn comes from.
  2. Corn is the best vegetable that there has ever been.
  3. Hills are odd and not responded well too.
  4. People that I used to think were from New England are actually from the Midwest. I now know who New Englanders are.
  5. Hoosiers do sarcasm well. (Total blanket statement- but one I believe in)
  6. Layering is stylish and necessary.
  7. It is possible to function when there is snow on the ground. (An arguable statement to those in TN like my dad)
  8. Indiana loves to go around in circles. (Indy 500, Little 500, Grand Prix, more cul-de-sacs than I have ever seen in my life, Monument Circle, Circle Center Mall…)
  9. Basketball is God’s gift to man.
  10. The Colts are God’s gift to man.
  11. Never go to Gary. Don’t claim you’re from Gary. We pretend Gary is part of IL.
  12. Where Indiana lacks in large cities, they make up for in awesome universities. (IU, PU, ND, ISU…)
  13. Bob Knight can do no wrong.
  14. We continue to take pride in things that are way past their expiration date (Please refer to #13 or Mellancamp’s Small Town video, Breaking Away, this Full Frontal Video, etc…)

So even though Indiana is holding on to traditions we probably should have let go of by now, and even though we might have some silly quirks (ex: Santa Claus, Indiana??), the state is full of pride. SO much pride. I applaud my fellow Hoosiers for loving the state so darn much. 

I leave you with my fellow Hoosiers…

This entry was posted in It's a little random, It's about life, It's an observation, It's something funny and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What Indiana has taught me

Leave a Reply

