Wired

I have Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, YouTube, WordPress, and as of this week- FourSquare.

I can now say that I am completely wired. And I’m not sure how I feel about it.

While FourSquare is interesting, and the game element of it is fun. I literally “check-in” at different locations. So people know where I am at anytime. I thought I stopped telling people where I was when I moved out of my parents’ house.

When I log into Twitter, it asks me “what are you doing?”.

When I log into Facebook, it asks me “what’s on your mind?”.

So now, with all of my online entities anyone can know where I am, what I am doing, and how I feel about it. The only question that remains is, “what are you wearing?” and I’m sure that isn’t too far behind.

Now with so much energy being poured into online activities,  and I’m even taking a class on how to improve social media presence, I wonder what regular activities we are missing. I wonder how many people are staring into their Facebook so much that they don’t take a minute to stare outside.

While I love social media (especially my blog!) I can’t help but keep myself somewhat at a distance from some of it, just to remind myself that a real world exists beyond the digital world. I don’t want to miss the bigger picture that is life.

BUT- if it’s raining outside:

Watch, tag, connect, friend, tweet, poke, check-in, and message away.

This entry was posted in It's about life, It's an observation and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wired

  1. anna says:

    “what i wore today” is a common title for many “fashion bloggers.”
    and…lookbook for all its somewhat predictable fashion
    http://lookbook.nu/

Leave a Reply

