The Next Step in Total Cooking Domination

It all started last Saturday. I was inspired, so I went to the Bloomington Farmer’s Market. I got the full experience for the quaint little town market.

I admired the flowers which I don’t have the disposable income to purchase,

watched a Jazzercise routine while reminiscing about my youth,

visited my buddy Nate who had to get up far to early to work,

and then:

I bought corn.

Not just a few ears of corn (which was an option), but half a dozen ears of corn!! With only myself to feed and with the pending expiration date a week away, I was determined to be creative and eat all. my. damn. corn.

First, I cooked some ears. Duh. I ate them. Again, duh.

But for my next round of corn, I went to my new muse- Ree Drummond, better known as The Pioneer Woman. This woman is sassy, hilarious, and an awesome cook (with step-by-step pictures to help you along all her recipes!)

I went with Ree’s Summer Stir Fry.

Not only did I chop and cook zucchini, cherry tomatoes, my kernels of corn, and shrimp… but I also minced garlic. This is the point where anyone that knows me goes… “shut up.”

No this isn't my photo. But I promise mine looked exactly the same!

And I respond with a… “I KNOW!” It was empowering. The whole meal was delicious.

I added some bowtie pasta to beef it up, (I guess it’s really called farfalle? Don’t ask me to pronounce it) and now I am happy, full, and smelling of garlic.

Next step, fresh herbs. Seriously. They scare the crap out of me.

OH….. and I still have two more ears of corn 🙂

This entry was posted in It's a learning opportunity, It's something funny, It's something I made!. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Next Step in Total Cooking Domination

  1. Kathy Tennant says:

    SHUT UP!!! NO WAY!!

Leave a Reply

