Why I ♥ IU

Last week was one of the coolest experiences of my life.

It was the Board of Directors meetings at my internship. For two days, some of the most prominent and powerful people at my university came together to discuss the fundraising efforts for the university. And. It. Was. So. Cool.

I got the opportunity to sit in on meetings that not even many foundation staff members get to sit in on. One of my favorite’s was the women’s philanthropy meeting. It was one of the most empowering feelings to sit in a room with strong, successful women who were making a difference for my university.

On Thursday, I made a presentation to the board about the internship program. It was SO nerve racking! I am normally so comfortable in front of people but when your audience includes the president of the university, the president of the foundation, the president of Vera Bradley, the executive director of the alumni association, and about 20 other powerful people, the butterflies start going!! It was so successful though and the president of my university congratulated me afterwards!

Along with the other interns, we got to attend both evening events with the Board of Directors. My favorite moment was the Wednesday evening dinner. I was sitting with the University’s Trustees and the Alumni Association Executive Director and we had just had a fantastic conversation about student leaders when the president stood at the front of the room to speak.

We were in the new events facility in the football stadium, the sun was setting over the field, the president was talking about the future possibilities for the university, and I was sitting in a room filled with people that care so deeply for the university that I am so priviledged to attend. In the middle of the president’s remarks, I got goosebumps.

I feel so honored to be able to attend my university.

I have always loved where I go to school, but seeing how much these donors love my school, makes me appreciate my university so much more. I don’t want to take advantage of another day on campus.

I only wish other students could have experienced what I had the opportunity to. I am so blessed.

Indiana, Our Indiana

Indiana, we’re all for you

We will fight for the Cream & Crimson

                                    For the glory of Old IU                                    

                       Never daunted, we cannot falter                       

                  In the battle, we’re tried and true                 

                                            Indiana, Our Indiana                                          

Indiana, we’re all for you!

This entry was posted in It's about college, It's about life, It's an observation. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Why I ♥ IU

  1. Apparently it has been a wise investment : )

  2. Pingback: Board of Directors- Take Two | Holding the Wind

Leave a Reply

