Let the nostalgia begin

So I came home to Knoxville tonight for the first time since Christmas. As I was rolling into town I was trying to capture my emotions and it was a little difficult.

I didn’t know what exactly I was feeling, or how I was feeling. Yes, I was so excited to have a break from work and see my family. Yes, it was nice to be in a familiar place. But it is weird to think that Knoxville isn’t as familiar anymore as I thought it was.

There are so many new buildings and construction even since

Christmas. I haven’t been on the lake in over a year. The last group of students from my high school that I knew during my high school career graduated this year. The majority of my old friends either stayed in their respected college town like me this summer or are off traveling or have internships elsewhere. Besides my family, I realize that the only thing left to hold onto in Knoxville is nostalgia.

My family has been in Knoxville for 20 years. 20 years! Knoxville will forever be home in my heart,  but now it definitely is a different type of home.

Now that my ties are kind of split in different directions I believe that cheesy phrase “home is where the heart is.” Part of my heart will always be in Knoxville, another part with my mom in California, another part traveling wherever the heck my brother is, another part wherever my close friends and family are, another part in Bloomington, and the last little bit will need to stay with me  because I am a control freak and I need to keep whatever little bit of heart I have left safe.

Even though my home is split amongst different areas- another cheesy quote still holds true… “There’s no place like home.”


This entry was posted in It's about life, It's an observation. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Let the nostalgia begin

  1. Kathy Tennant says:

    Actually, it’s not quite been 20 years….we moved there in July of 1991, when you were 2 1/2 years old, so next year it will be 20 years!

Leave a Reply

